Divisions
Inmate Information
Permits / Licenses
Employment
Links
Return to the homepage
Contact the Humboldt County Sheriff's Office
Humboldt County, Nevada Sheriff's Office
Contact Information

CONCEALED WEAPON PERMIT

Application packets may be picked up at the Humboldt County Sheriff’s Office located at 50 West Fifth Street in Winnemucca.

****Completed applications are accepted on the following days and times****
Monday thru Friday 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.

FEES

All fees are non-refundable

Initial application

Fee of $100.25 must be submitted with your application. This covers processing and background check costs. Cash or personal check acceptable.

Renewal application

A $65.25 fee to Humboldt County Sheriff’s Office must be submitted with your application, covering processing and background check. If you fail to renew your permit within 4 months of expiration of the permit, your application for renewal must include an additional late fee of $15.00.

Duplicate permit

A $15.00 fee must be submitted for a duplicate permit in the event of a change of address or if a permit is lost, stolen or destroyed.


ELIGIBILITY

You are NOT eligible for a permit to carry a concealed weapon if any of the following applies:

  • You are not 21 years of age.
  • You are not a resident of Humboldt County if a Nevada resident. You must apply in the county in which you reside. If applying for a non-resident permit, you may apply in the jurisdiction of your choice.
  • You cannot provide proof of firearms proficiency.
  • You have an outstanding warrant(s) for your arrest.
  • You have been judicially declared mentally incompetent or insane.
  • You have been voluntarily or involuntarily admitted to a mental health facility during the immediately preceding 5 years.
  • You have habitually used intoxicating liquor or any controlled substance to the extent that your normal faculties are impaired.
  • You have been convicted of violating the provisions of NRS 484 (driving under the influence).
  • You have been committed for treatment pursuant to NRS 458.290 to 458.350, inclusive (substance abuse).
  • You have been convicted of one or more crimes of violence constituting a misdemeanor under the laws of this or any other state, territory or possession of the United States at any time during the immediately preceding 3 years.
  • You have been convicted of a felony in this state or under the laws of any state, territory or possession of the United States.
  • You are the respondent or defendant of a temporary or extended order for protection against domestic violence in this or any other state.
  • You are currently on parole or probation for a conviction obtained in this state or in any other state, territory or possession of the United States.
  • You have, within the immediately preceding 5 years, been subject to any requirements imposed by a court of this state or any other state, territory or possession of the United States, as a condition to the courts.
  • Any jurisdiction is withholding an entry of judgment for your conviction of a felony or suspension of your sentence for the conviction of a felony.
  • You have made a false statement on any application for a permit or for the renewal of a permit.

All applicants must demonstrate competence with a firearm by presenting a certificate or other documentation that shows a training course on the use of applicable firearm(s) has been completed by applicant.  This training course must include instruction in the use of each semi-automatic firearm to which the application for a permit to carry a concealed weapon applies and in the laws of this state relating to the proper use of the firearm.  To carry a revolver, applicant must qualify with only one revolver.  Once revolver qualified, any revolver may be carried under the privileges of the permit.  Above mentioned training must be completed within the 6 months prior to the date of application for any initial permit or renewal of a permit.


PROCESSING/ISSUANCE

Allow up to 120 days for processing your initial application. You will be notified upon the approval of your application and required to come to the Humboldt County Sheriff’s Office to be issued your concealed weapon permit.

TERM OF PERMIT

Resident and non-resident concealed weapon permits issued by the Humboldt County Sheriff’s Office is valid throughout the STATE OF NEVADA for a period of 5 years, unless otherwise stated, suspended or revoked for cause.

CARRYING OF PERMIT

A concealed firearm permit authorizes holder to carry a firearm of the type(s) specified on the permit anywhere in the State of Nevada, excluding areas included below, during the term of the permit, unless the permit has been suspended or revoked. A permittee is not authorized to carry a concealed firearm into specific locations. Those areas where you MAY NOT carry a concealed firearm includes:

  • Any facility of a law enforcement agency.
  • A prison, county or city jail or detention facility.
  • A courthouse or courtroom
  • Any facility of a public or private school.
  • Any facility of a vocational or technical school or of a university or college system of Nevada.
  • Any other building owned or occupied by the Federal Government, State or local Government.
  • Any other place in which the carrying of a concealed firearm is prohibited by state or federal law.

You must carry the permit, together with proper identification, whenever you are in actual possession of a concealed firearm. Both the permit and proper identification must be presented if requested by a peace officer. If you are found to be in violation of this regulation, you will be subject to a civil penalty of at least $25.00 for each violation and face the possibility of revocation of the permit to carry a concealed firearm.